Statistical Story of the IPL

0 – successful chase of 200 or above by any team since the final match of IPL 2014 between Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) and Kings XI Punjab (KXIP). Gautam Gambhir-led KKR chased 200 to win their second IPL title. The highest successful chase of 2016 edition was by Gujarat Lions (GL). They chased 196 to beat Rising Pune Supergiants (RPS — now Supergiant). And in 2015, two teams jointly held the record for this. Chennai Supers Kings (CSK) defeated Mumbai Indians (MI) by eventually scoring 189, while KKR scored 184 against KXIP: both sides were chasing 184.

0 – tied matches since 2014 edition. The last tied match in IPL took place between KKR and Rajasthan Royals (RR) at Abu Dhabi. Eventually, the super over also ended up in a tie but RR were declared the winner on the boundary-count-back rule. During the match, RR hit 17 fours and KKR hit only 12, which turned out to be the deciding factor.

 1st – Australian to captain three different sides in IPL  Steven Smith. He has previous led Pune Warriors India (PWI) and RR. In this edition he will replace MS Dhoni as RPS captain. The other two cricketers to captain three IPL sides are Kumar Sangakkara (Deccan Chargers [DC], KXIP and SRH) and Mahela Jayawardene (KXIP, DD and Kochi Tuskers Kerala [KTK]).

9 – captains each used by KXIP and DD so far in IPL, the most by any team. MI and PWI come next, with 6 each.

George Bailey JP Duminy
Adam Gilchrist Dinesh Karthik
Yuvraj Singh Zaheer Khan
Kumar Sangakkara Virender Sehwag
Mahela Jayawardene Kevin Pietersen
Murali Vijay David Warner
David Miller James Hopes
Virender Sehwag Mahela Jayawardene
David Hussey Gautam Gambhir

 1 – Indian wicketkeeper batsman to score a century in IPL  Wriddhiman Saha. Three wicketkeepers have scored IPL hundreds till now — Adam Gilchrist (twice), Quinton de Kock and Saha. Saha’s 115* against KKR in 2014 is the highest by any wicketkeeper in IPL.

17 – Man of the Match awards for Chris Gayle in IPL, the most by anyone. Yusuf Pathan is next, with 16.

 2 – times 99 have been scored in IPL. Suresh Raina hit 99* against SRH in 2013, while Kohli was out for 99 against DD — two days after Raina.

1st – time Dhoni will playing someone else’s captaincy in IPL, since Smith has been appointed skipper of RPS. Across all T20 tournaments, Dhoni has played under Virender Sehwag, Kohli and Raina. He played under Sehwag in India’s first T20I in 2006-07 and under Kohli in the recent T20I series against England. He also played under Raina once in Champions Trophy. Smith will be the 4th overall and first overseas player to lead a T20 side with Dhoni in it.

 2 – players to have been the part of champion side in IPL thrice — Yusuf and Rohit Sharma. Yusuf was the only player to hold this record before MI won their second title in 2015 under Rohit. Yusuf won it for RR and KKR (twice) and Rohit for DC and MI (twice).

 4 – teams represented by Robin Uthappa and Manish Pandey — but more interestingly, they have always played for the same franchise every time. They have played together for MI in 2008, for RCB in 2009 and 2010, for PWI from 2011 to 2013 and for KKR since 2014.

 8 – maidens earned by Sandeep Sharma in his so far IPL journey, the most by a bowler with 2 or fewer T20Is. Sandeep has played 2 T20I for India in 2015.

 106 – matches played by Kieron Pollard in IPL for MI. He is the only non-Indian player to have played 100 matches for the same team in IPL. AB de Villiers (91 for RCB) comes next. Overall, Pollard stands at 6th spot, after Kohli (139 for RCB), Raina (132 for CSK), Dhoni (129 for CSK), Harbhajan Singh (125 for MI) and Ambati Rayudu (109 for MI).

 4 – partnerships of 200 runs so far. Kohli has been the part of 3. The fourth one was the only one involving two non-Indians.

Double hundred partnerships in IPL
Partners Runs Wicket Team Opposition Venue Season
Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers 229 2nd RCB GL Bengaluru 2016
Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers 215* 2nd RCB MI Mumbai 2015
Adam Gilchrist, Shaun Marsh 206 2nd KXIP RCB Dharamsala 2011
Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli 204* 2nd RCB DD Delhi 2012

 32 – wickets by Bravo in 2013, the most by a bowler in any IPL edition. Bravo is the only bowler to take 30 wickets in a season. He broke Lasith Malinga’s record of 28 wickets in 2011.

Most wickets in a season
Bowler M W Season
Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 18 32 2013
Lasith Malinga (MI) 16 28 2011
James Faulkner (RR) 16 28 2013
Dwayne Bravo (CSK) 17 26 2015
Morne Morkel (DD) 16 25 2012

 1 – bowler to take two 5-wicket hauls in IPL — Faulkner: 5 for 20 at Jaipur and 5 for 16 at Hyderabad, both against SRH in 2013.

 3 – players of MI (Malinga, Harbhajan and Munaf Patel) have taken 5-wicket hauls. No other active team has this record. RCB has two, Anil Kumble and Jaydev Unadkat.

 1 – player to have scored a hundred and taken 3 wickets in the same match — Gayle: 107 and 3 for 21 against KXIP in 2011 at Bengaluru. In all, 8 players have scored 50 and have taken 3 wickets in a match. Yuvraj is the only one to do it thrice and Shane Watson is the only overseas player to do it twice.

50 runs and 3 wickets in the same match
Player Team R Figures Versus Venue Season
Chris Gayle RCB 107 3 for 21 KXIP Bengaluru 2011
Shane Watson RR 89 3 for 19 MI Mumbai 2011
Yuvraj Singh RCB 83 4 for 35 RR Bengaluru 2014
Paul Valthaty KXIP 75 4 for 29 DC Hyderabad 2011
Yuvraj Singh PWI 66 4 for 29 DD Mumbai 2011
Kieron Pollard MI 64 4 for 44 RR Mumbai 2012
Yusuf Pathan RR 56 3 for 22 CSK Mumbai 2008
JP Duminy DD 54 4 for 17 SRH Visakhapatnam 2015
Shane Watson RR 52 3 for 10 DD Mumbai 2008
Marcus Stoinis KXI 52 3 for 40 DD Mohali 2016
Yuvraj Singh KXIP 50 3 for 22 RCB Durban 2009

 120 – not out by Paul Valthaty for KXIP against CSK in 2011 — the highest unbeaten score by a non-international batsman. Manish Pandey scored 114* for RCB against DC in 2009. Pandey is now an international cricketer but wasn’t at that time.

72 – matches for S Ravi as umpire. He is the only Indian umpire in the tournament to stand in 50 matches. Kumar Dharmasena (87) heads the list.

 5 – teams represented by Ashok Dinda — DD, KKR, PW, RPS and RCB. None of the team Dinda has played for has ever qualified for playoffs. He has played 75 matches till now.

30 – innings as wicketkeeper for Manvinder Bisla. He is the only non-international wicketkeeper to have kept wickets for 30 or more matches in IPL.

1 – team to have not played in any IPL final among the teams who has been in IPL since first edition — DD. They qualified for playoffs thrice (2008, 2009 and 2012).

 4 – players to have been with same team since the inception of IPL — Harbhajan (MI), Kohli (RCB), Malinga (MI) and Marsh (KXIP). Malinga was the part of MI in 2008 but could not play any match. Marsh is the only overseas player to have played at least one match in every season of IPL for the same team.

7 – matches in IPL with 1-run margins so far. The last instance took place between KXIP and RCB at Mohali in 2016.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s